My Cart

Close

• FREE SHIPPING ORDERS OVER $250

Global Shipping • Click & Collect • Same-day order despatch before 2:30pm • $10 Express Shipping*

MTB Suspension Sales, Service & Support

Introducing the Sol Breads-Cyclinic Women! #2

Posted on August 16 2017


Name:
 Jayne Rutter

Age: 35

Years riding and racing: I won my first MTB in a magazine competition, back in 2000. I started riding a little bit of Downhill, but nothing too serious. Then in 2004 I did my first Downhill race and I loved it! Then in 2005 I raced my first Cross Country race on my dirt jumper. In 2006 I did my first (and last) Road race. So I guess I have been racing for 10 years!

Most notable/memorable race to date: Highlights are being the Elite Womens SA State Champion for DH in 2005, 2006 and 2007, and in 2006, I was also the Elite Womens SA State Champion for XC. In 2008 I became the Elite Womens QLD (sunshine series) State Champion for DH.

In 2008 I came 5th Overall in the Elite Women DH Australia National Championships Series.

In 2009 I came 3rd in the Ladies Penny Farthing National Championships in TAS.

In 2010 and 2011, I came 3rd Overall in the Elite Women 4X Australia National Championships Series.

I also raced in the 2008 World Cup Race in Canberra. This was a great experience. The atmosphere was amazing. I broke my wrist 4 weeks before hand, and still had it in a cast at the time. So I raced with a broken left wrist.

Favourite trails: I love the Coffs Harbour and Mt Beauty DH trails. Whistler in Canada was also amazing! Adelaide has some great XC tracks and local favourites like Gap Creek are also good fun.

Favourite food: I do love a good chicken parmi and hot chips.

Favourite music: The latest Sia album is on my playlist at the moment, along with old favourites; The Cat Empire, The Herd, Hilltop Hoods, Gotye, Pink, Missy Higgins.

More women should ride bikes because… It's fun and everyone should have fun!

Goal races for the remainder of 2014 season and 2015: No more racing for me for 2014 as I am going to have a baby in October. I'll focus on recovery and base fitness for the remainder of 2014, then hit the QLD XC race circuit and some gravity enduros in 2015. Yay!

In my day job I…Work as an Environmental Consultant. I write technical documents and assess the environmental impacts from major resource development projects (mining, gas, power stations, pipelines etc). I'm also a mum to a 4 year old and 2 year old; both active little kiddies.

What animal would you be…if you were an animal? What kind of a strange psychological question is that?…

Favourite cyclist: I think Anna and Kerrie Meares are inspirational.

Post ride coffee, hot chocolate or epic milkshake? Coffee! (and also beer, but that wasn't on the list.)

L-R: Jayne, Anna, Megan
L-R: Jayne, Anna, Megan

Jayne_4hr